
 
 

  

DI VOR CE PR OCEDUR ES 
 
Grounds and Procedure 
 T here are two grounds for absolute divorce in North Carolina, but only one is ever used.  T he latter is 
separation for more than one year with the intent that the separation be permanent, which is found at G.S. 50-
6.  T he other ground, three years' incurable insanity under G.S. 50-5.1, is rarely pleaded. 
 
 I t is important to remember that a complaint for divorce and a divorce judgment must be verified before 
a notary public and the divorce complaint and judgment must contain the names and ages of all minor children 
born of the marriage.  T he purpose of the latter is to avoid spurious denials of paternity and unnecessary 
paternity litigation.  Clear and explicit advice about this and the effect of res judicata and collateral estoppel is 
very important for the client who might later decide to challenge the paternity of a child that was born during 
the marriage. 
 
 T he complaint must be served on the spouse at least 30 days before the hearing.  T o be safe, wait an 
extra week or so to allow her/him to answer.  Sometimes the spouse will ask for an extension of time by 
another 30 days, and the clerk can grant this without a hearing. 
 
Common Misconcept ions 
 Legal assistance attorneys must, at the outset, clarify the clients' understanding about certain divorce-
related issues.  T he client who, for example, says "My husband won't give me a divorce" does not understand 
that it is the judge who gives you a divorce, not your husband or your wife.  T he husband and wife are merely 
parties to the lawsuit.  Either party can set a hearing on the issue of divorce.  Unless there is a mistake in the 
complaint or the defendant denies an allegation, the divorce should be granted routinely. 
 
 Another misconception is that "We can't get a divorce yet -- we don't have a legal separation."  All the 
statute requires for a complaint for absolute divorce is living apart for more than one year, concurrent with the 
intent on the part of at least one of the parties that the separation be permanent.  A separation agreement or 
other documentation will not slow down or speed up the process of divorce in North Carolina, although it 
probably will have many other benefits for the client in terms of setting out understandable and enforceable 
promises for the husband and wife.  A separation means that the parties have been living under different roofs 
(not in the same building). 
 
 T he major problem often involves the date of separation.  As long as the date of separation is more 
than one year before the filing of the action, the divorce will be granted, even if the date found by the court 
upon oral testimony is not the same as the date set out in the complaint.  I t is important to remember that the 
client cannot file for divorce on the exact anniversary of the separation.  T he date of filing must be "more than 
one year" after the separation of the parties, meaning that at least one year plus one day of separation is 
required for filing of the divorce complaint.   Anything earlier than this is a ticket to dismissal. 
 
A Quick Divorce 
 Yet another misunderstanding is the idea that a quick divorce can be obtained by annulment or 
obtaining a foreign divorce.  An annulment is not a "quickie divorce"--it is a judicial declaration that no marriage 
has ever occurred because of some recognized bar to existence of the marriage contract.  Examples of such a 
bar would be a prior subsisting marriage of one of the parties (bigamy) or marriage to a person who is under 
the legal age of consent or within a prohibited degree of kinship.  T his is not the case with most soldiers who 
want a "quickie divorce." 
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 What about a foreign divorce?  T he soldier who asks about divorce in the Dominican Republic (or some 
other West I ndies island) must be given the same discouragement as one gives to the potential annulment 
plaintiff -- unless the military client is a bona fide domiciliary of that jurisdiction (or the spouse is), its courts 
have no authority to grant a divorce.  T he client can indeed go through an expensive charade to get a foreign 
divorce document, but the decree is (depending upon the prevailing law) void or voidable, and it is certainly 
subject to collateral attack by innocent third parties.  T he best advice to give the military client is that foreign 
divorces are no good and will not be recognized by any legal authority as valid. 
 
A Potent ial T rap 
 North Carolina, like other states, requires the domicile of one of the parties to be in this state.  T here is, 
however, a statute (G.S. 50-18) which states that: 

 
I n any action instituted and prosecuted under this Chapter, allegation and proof that the 
plaintiff or the defendant has resided or been stationed at a United States army, navy, marine 
corps, coast guard or air force installation or reservation or any other location pursuant to 
military duty within this State for a period of six months next preceding the institution of the 
action shall constitute compliance with the residence requirements set forth in this Chapter. 

 
T his would appear to allow SGT  Smith, who has been stationed here for over 6 months but is domiciled 
elsewhere, to file here for divorce against his wife who does not live in North Carolina and is not domiciled here.  
Not true.  A 1961 decision of the N.C. Supreme Court, Martin v. Martin, has construed this to mean that SGT  
Smith’s living on base does not disqualify him from claiming that he is living in this state.  T he Court stated that 
this statute is not to be construed to mean that domicle is not required for the court to assert jurisdiction over 
the marriage of the parties.  Domicile still is required, and this restrictive interpretation will mean that, when 
neither party is domiciled here, the suit for divorce or dissolution will have to be filed elsewhere. T his means 
that a party must be domiciled in NC (and have indications of this domicile, such as paying taxes, home 
ownership or voting). 
 
 When you think about it, the only person who would be adversely affected by this restrictive 
interpretation is the servicemember who is domiciled elsewhere, wants to get a divorce here and has a spouse 
in another state.  T his client could not get a divorce in North Carolina.  Other points to remember are: 

 
a. As the Martin case points out, a servicemember may still claim North Carolina as his domicile (so 

long as he can prove it at the hearing on divorce).  A key issue if this occurs will be whether the 
member has been paying state income and personal property taxes. 

 
b. A servicemember can still get a divorce here if the spouse is residing here and domiciled in North 

Carolina.  I n analyzing the spouse’s domicile, remember that non-military spouses do not have the 
SSCRA’s protections as to retention of their original domiciles -- each new state of residence is 
deemed to be their domicile under most states’ laws. 

 
 Regardless of whether the divorce is contested or not (and almost no divorce in North Carolina is ever 
contested in the true sense of the word), the court will conduct a hearing.  And the judge will listen to tesimony 
(or review evidence) from one of the parties (ordinarily the plaintiff) before granting a judgment of absolute 
divorce.  I f the plaintiff is outside North Carolina or otherwise unavailable at the time of the divorce hearing, the 
opposing party may give the routine divorce testimony.  Divorce by summary judgment is also available and this 
avoids the requirement of oral testimony in court.  As to a soldier who is stationed overseas and wishes to 
obtain a judgment of divorce in North Carolina, see "Divorce American Style...Overseas," T he Army Lawyer, 
October 1986. 
 
Ef fects of  Divorce 
 T he effect of a judgment of absolute divorce is to make the parties single and unmarried.  T he 
judgment usually accomplishes nothing more, with matters of child support, custody, alimony and equitable 
distribution preserved (if raised in the pleadings) for further orders of the court. 
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T he judgment of absolute divorce is effective upon the court's signing of same; there is no "waiting 
period" for the divorce to "become final" in North Carolina.  Upon request of the plaintiff or defendant in the 
pleadings, the court can provide in the judgment for the wife to resume the use of her maiden name or that of a 
deceased prior husband.  After the divorce is granted, the judgment is clocked in and filed with the Clerk of 
Superior Court, and the Clerk will usually give to the plaintiff one free certified copy for his or her permanent 
records. 
 
 Finally, it is essential to know what the granting of a divorce judgment destroys.  I n North Carolina, any 
claim for equitable distribution of marital property or for alimony, if not already asserted in the pleadings in the 
case (or in some other case) will be destroyed upon the rendering of a judgment of absolute divorce.  I t is 
especially important to tell those clients whose claims for pension division have been reserved under the terms 
of a separation agreement to go ahead now and hire a lawyer so they can file for equitable distribution of this 
asset.  RESERVED does not mean that the spouse is entitled to it yet; it just means that it is saved until the 
divorce, but it must be claimed by then (in a counterclaim if the spouse is the defendant) or else it will be 
completely lost. 
 
 Here’s a checklist.  Make sure that the client has been advised:  
 
44 BASI C ADVI CE 
 Don’t file for divorce until you’ve been separ ated for at least a year and a day. 
 You (or your spouse) must be a legal resident of NC to file for divorce here. 
 You must sign a verification of the divorce complaint before a notary public over a year after your 

separation 
 Don’t calendar the hearing till at least a month has passed since the papers were served and there’s 

no response from your spouse. 
 Be sure to recite the names and ages of the children born of the marriage. 
 State that the separation was intended to be permanent by at least one of the parties when it 

occurred. 
 Serve the other side by certified mail, return receipt requested, or by sheriff or process-server, and 

then get proof of service for the court file. 
 Pension, property division and alimony claims are GONE unless you assert them in a counterclaim to 

the divorce action. 
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