Skip to main content

Councilors

Michael R. Ramos, Chair
109 West Franklin St.
Rockingham, NC 28379
dprince@atme.net; mramos@atmc.net

Kirk G. Warner, Col. (USAR, ret.), Vice-Chair
SmithAnderson
P.O. Box 2611
2300 Wells Fargo Capitol Center 
Raleigh, NC 27602-2611
kwarner@smithlaw.com

Harold Lee Boughman Jr.
lee.boughman@abb-law.com

Scott C. Hart
shart@nclawyers.com

Robert C. Kemp III
robert.c.kemp@nccourts.org

Roy L. McDonald II
10 LSB Plaza
Post Office Box 1657
Lexington, NC 27293-1657
rmcdonald@bwspllc.com   

C. Branson Vickory (Branny)
208 Deen St.
Mt. Olive, NC 28365
bvickory@goldsboronclawyers.com

Herbert “Jay” White
jaywhite@hwpalaw.com

John S. Willardson
206 East Main Street
Wilkesboro, NC 28697
john@willardsonlaw.com

Joseph Johnson, Public Member
uncg70@gmail.com


Members

Michael S. Archer, Secretary
Legal Assistance Director 
Legal Service Support Section
Marine Corps Installations East
PSC Box 20005
Camp Lejeune, NC 28542-0005
Michael.archer@usmc.mil

Gill Beck, JAGC, Executive Director 
MGen., JAGC, USAR (retired)
329 Mountain Laurel
Asheville, NC 28805
gill.becksr@gmail.com

John W. Brooker
UNC Law Clinical Programs
102 Ridge Road
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
(919) 962-2672
jbrooker@email.unc.edu 

Matthew Fesak
US Attorney’s Office, EDNC
310 New Bern Ave., Ste 800
Raleigh, NC 27601
Matthew.fesak@usdoj.gov

David Fox
Military Liaison, NC Dept. of Justice
Consumer Protection
PO box 629
Raleigh, NC 27602
dfox@ncdoj.gov
(919) 716-6000

David L. Hayden
COL (USA ret.)
Smith Anderson
PO Box 2611
2300 Wells Fargo Capital Center
Raleigh, NC 27602-2611
dhayden@smithlaw.com

Brandon E. Heffinger 
Major (USMC)
Smith Anderson/Wake Forest Veterans Legal Clinic
PO Box 2611
2300 Wells Fargo Capitol Center
Raleigh, NC 27602-2611
bheffinger@smithlaw.com

George Humphrey 
LtCol, USMCR (ret) 
380 Knollwood St., Ste 700
Winston-Salem, NC 27103
ghumphrey@allmanspry.com

Marie A. Joiner-Avon
FORSCOM
Fort Bragg, 28310
marie.a.joiner.civ@mail.mil

Ms. Jocelyn Mallette
McGuireWoods LLP
501 Fayetteville Street, Suite 500
Raleigh, NC 27601
(719) 210-7190
jmallette@mcguirewoods.com

Angela O. Martin
Sr. Enforcement Atty/Military Affairs Liaison 
Office of Enforcement/Consumer Financial Protection Bur.
1700 G St. NW
Washington, D.C. 20552
Angela.martin@cfpb.gov 

Eleanor Morales
Veterans Legal Clinic 
Wake Forest University School of Law
PO Box 7206
Winston-Salem, NC 27109
moralee@wfu.edu 

Robert E. Nunley LTCOL, USMC (Ret.) 
Nunley & Associates, PLLC 
PO Box 111
Green Mountain, NC 28740
marinejudge@gmail.com

Rick Ottinger
Ottinger Law, PLLC
PO Box 935
Erwin, NC 28339
(910) 808-8012

W. James Payne
Attorney at Law
PO Box 2308
Shallotte, NC 28459
payne@jamespaynelaw.com

Lonnie M. Player Jr.
lonnie@playermclean.com

Buren R. Shields III, Web-master
COL, USA (ret.) 
2501 Walden Woods Drive
Apex, NC 27523
BurenShields.esq@gmail.com

Charlotte R. Stewart
(336) 675-3286
carolinguia@gmail.com

Mark E. Sullivan
COL, USAR, Ret.
Law Offices of Mark E. Sullivan, P.A.
5511 Capital Center Drive, Suite 320
Raleigh, NC 27606
(919) 832-8507
mark.sullivan@ncfamilylaw.com

Hon. Frank D. Whitney
COL, USAR, Ret.
US District Court (W.D.N.C.)
Charles R. Jonas Fed. Bldg.
401 W. Trade St., Room 195
Charlotte, NC 28202
frank_whitney@ncwd.uscourts.gov

Matthew Wilcut, Attorney
Deuterman Law Group
317 South Greene Street
Greensboro, NC  27401
(336) 373.1130 ext. 334
(336) 373.1466 (Fax)


Ex Officio

CPT Asia Buss
Chief of Legal Assistance
asia.j.buss.mil@mail.mil
Staff Judge Advocate
18th Abn Corps and Ft. Bragg
Fort Bragg, NC 28310

COL Rogers
Staff Judge Advocate
(910) 432-8061
Staff Judge Advocate
US Special Opns Command
Fort Bragg, NC 28307-5000

COL Thurnher
Staff Judge Advocate
(910) 908-0047
Staff Judge Advocate
82d Airborne Division
Fort Bragg, NC 28310

Kristen MH Coyne
Chief, Legal Assistance and Preventive Law
kristen.coyne.1@us.af.mil
Direct: (910) 394-1521, DSN 424-1521
43d Air Mobility Operations Group
259 Maynard St., Bldg. 309, Room 202
Pope AAF, North Carolina 28308

Capt Nathan R. Kinghorn
Chief of Legal Assistance
nathan.kinghorn.1@us.af.mil
Staff Judge Advocate
Seymour Johnson Air Force Base
4th Fighter Wing
1600 Wright Brothers Ave., Suite 265
Seymour Johnson AFB, NC 27531-2427

LtCol Doyle Hale
Staff Judge Advocate
Doyle.hale@usmc.mil 
Marine Corps Base
PSC Box 20004
Camp Lejeune, NC 28542-0004

Lorna Welch
Chief, Legal Assistance Office
lorna.welch@usmc.mil
PSC Box 20005
Camp Lejeune, NC 28542-0005

Staff Judge Advocate
(252) 466-6651/2830
Legal Assistance: (252) 466-6841/2361/2311
Marine Corps Air Station Cherry Point
Building 219
PSC Box 8007
Cherry Point, NC 28533

Maj Kevin L. Hoffman
Staff Judge Advocate
(910) 449-7158
Legal Assistance: (910) 449-6169
Marine Corps Air Station New River
Building AS-216
P.O. Box 21002
Jacksonville, NC 28545-1002

Legal Assistance Officer
(757) 398-6255
5th U.S. Coast Guard District
431 Crawford Street
Portsmouth, VA 23704

Richard E. Fay, COL, NCNG (ret.)
Chief Counsel, NC National Guard
Richard.e.fay.civ@mail.mil
(984) 664-6490
Staff Judge Advocate
North Carolina National Guard
1636 Goldstar Dr.
Raleigh, NC 27607