Skip to main content

Councilors

Lonnie M. Player, Chair
PO Box 88095
Fayetteville, NC 28304
Lonnie@playermclean.com

Robert Detwiler, Vice-Chair
327 New Bridge St.
PO Box 353
Jacksonville, NC 28541-0353
rwdetwiler@gmail.com

C. Branson Vickory (Branny)
208 Deen St.
Mt. Olive, NC 28365
cbvickory@gmail.com


Members

Gill Beck, JAGC, Executive Director 
MGen., JAGC, USAR (retired)
329 Mountain Laurel
Asheville, NC 28805
gill.becksr@gmail.com

Buren R. Shields III, Web-master
COL, USA (ret.) 
2501 Walden Woods Drive
Apex, NC 27523
BurenShields.esq@gmail.com

Michael S. Archer, Secretary
Legal Assistance Director 
Legal Service Support Section
Marine Corps Installations East
PSC Box 20005
Camp Lejeune, NC 28542-0005
Michael.archer@usmc.mil

Matthew Fesak
US Attorney’s Office, EDNC
310 New Bern Ave., Ste 800
Raleigh, NC 27601
Matthew.fesak@usdoj.gov

David Fox
Military Liaison, NC Dept. of Justice
Consumer Protection
PO box 629
Raleigh, NC 27602
dfox@ncdoj.gov
(919) 716-6000

David L. Hayden
COL (USA ret.)
Smith Anderson
PO Box 2611
2300 Wells Fargo Capital Center
Raleigh, NC 27602-2611
dhayden@smithlaw.com

Patti Head, Public Member

Brandon E. Heffinger
Captain (USMC)
Alston & Bird LLP
101 S. Tryon Str., Ste. 4000
Charlotte, NC 28280

George Humphrey 
LtCol, USMCR (ret) 
380 Knollwood St., Ste 700
Winston-Salem, NC 27103
ghumphrey@allmanspry.com

Marie A. Joiner-Avon
FORSCOM
Fort Bragg, 28310
marie.a.joiner.civ@mail.mil

T. Richard Kane
LtCol, USMC (Ret.) 
Poyner & Spruill, LLP
301 South College Str., Suite 2300
Charlotte, NC 28202
TRKane@POYNERSPRUILL.com

Angela O. Martin
Sr. Enforcement Atty/Military Affairs Liaison 
Office of Enforcement/Consumer Financial Protection Bur.
1700 G St. NW
Washington, D.C. 20552
Mail to: Angela.martin@cfpb.gov

Robert E. Nunley LTCOL, USMC (Ret.) 
Nunley & Associates, PLLC 
PO Box 111
Green Mountain, NC 28740
marinejudge@gmail.com

Rick Ottinger
Ottinger Law, PLLC
PO Box 935
Erwin, NC 28339
(910) 808-8012

Charlotte R. Stewart
NC Housing Finance Agency
PO Box 28066
Raleigh, NC 27611-8066
(919) 875-3770
crstewart@nchfa.com

Mark E. Sullivan
COL, USAR, Ret.
Sullivan & Tanner, PA
5511 Capital Center Drive, Suite 320
Raleigh, NC 27606
(919) 832-8507
mark.sullivan@ncfamilylaw.com

Kirk G. Warner, Col. (USAR, ret.)
SmithAnderson
P.O. Box 2611
2300 Wells Fargo Capitol Center 
Raleigh, NC 27602-2611
kwarner@smithlaw.com

Hon. Frank D. Whitney
COL, USAR, Ret.
US District Court (W.D.N.C.)
Charles R. Jonas Fed. Bldg.
401 W. Trade St., Room 195
Charlotte, NC 28202
frank_whitney@ncwd.uscourts.gov

Matthew Wilcut, Attorney
Deuterman Law Group
317 South Greene Street
Greensboro, NC  27401
(336) 373.1130 ext. 334
(336) 373.1466 (Fax)


Ex Officio

Staff Judge Advocate
TF Dragon and Ft. Bragg
Fort Bragg, NC 28310
LTC Jeff Thurnher
Jeffrey.s.thurnher.mil@mail.mil
Contact:  CPT Joshua Lynch, Chief Legal Assistance Office
Joshua.d.lynch.mil@mail.mil
(757) 578-2629

Staff Judge Advocate
US Special Opns Command
Fort Bragg, NC 28307-5000
COL Marc Seitsinger

Staff Judge Advocate
82d Airborne Division
Fort Bragg, NC 28310
COL Lori Campanella (deployed)
Lorianne.campanella@us.army.mil
LTC Paul Cucuzzella (Acting SJA)
paul.cucuzzella@us.army.mil

Staff Judge Advocate
43d Air Mobility Operations Group
374 Maynard Str., Suite A 
Pope Army Airfield, NC 28308-2381

Staff Judge Advocate
Seymour Johnson Air Force Base
4th Fighter Wing
1540 Goodson Str., Suite 100
Seymour Johnson AFB, NC 27531-2427
Lt Col Richard Gates, USAF

Staff Judge Advocate
Marine Corps Base
PSC Box 20004
Camp Lejeune, NC 28542-0004
LtCol Doyle Hale
Doyle.hale@usmc.mil

Legal Services Support Section – East
MCIEAST-MCB
PSC Box 20005
Camp Lejeune, NC  28542-0005
Col. Joseph Lore
Joseph.lore@usmc.mil

Director, Joint Law Center
PSC Box 20080
Marine Corps Air Station
Cherry Point, NC 28542-0080
Lieutenant Colonel Kevin S. Woodard, USMC

Legal Assistance Officer
5th U.S. Coast Guard District
300 East Main Str., Suite 400
Norfolk, VA 23510-9110

Staff Judge Advocate
North Carolina National Guard
Richard E. Fay, COL, NCNG (ret.)
Chief Counsel, NC National Guard
1636 Goldstar Dr.
Raleigh, NC 27607
Richard.e.fay.civ@mail.mil
(984) 664-6490

Director, Joint Law Center
Building AS-216
PSC Box 21002
Marine Corps Air Station New River
Jacksonville, NC 28542-1002
(910) 449-6169